Top Ten Tuesday| Top Books For A Spooky October Read

Untitled design-9
This weeks Top Ten Tuesday topic hosted by Broke and Bookish is The Top Ten Books For People Who Like Character Driven Books , but I didn’t want to do that. I decided to rebel and instead do more of a recommend post about great reads for the month of October. Since this month has Halloween and so many people like to do some creepy, suspenseful, horror filled or paranormal reads, I figured I would recommend some books that would be great to read this month if you wanted to get in the mood for the holiday season. These are in no particular order and are a range of different types of books that fit into a Halloweeny theme!

MissPeregrineCover

 ♠ Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This is a little creepy and definitely has that strange and weird atmosphere to it. The pictures add to the spookiness of the story. It isn’t scary by any means but gets you in the Halloween mood! 

Hexed by Michelle Krys cover35324-medium

This is a great fun witchy read! It is not scary or spooky, but there is some action and twists. It fits the light and fun feel that is associated with dressing up and having fun on Halloween. 

Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 3.38.38 PM

The Girl From The Well by Rin Chupeco

Now I wasn’t completely in love with this book, but it was good and was based on some Japanese folklore. It reads like a Japanese horror movie much like The Ring or The Grudge. There were times I couldn’t read this at night because my imagination was creating images. 

Tithe by Holly Black  tithe

Now I wouldn’t say this is a typical pick for the Halloween theme. I think it makes for an interesting theme month read. It is about faeries. I know what you are thinking, but this is a dark faerie tale that is twisted and a little creepy! 

6587879

Horns by Joe Hill

This was a dark and disturbing horror novel. It is an adult book.  It is about the devil and solving the mystery behind a death. It was for sure twisted and for mature audiences! There is also a movie coming out! 

Lailah by Nikki Kelly 18324459-1

This is a book I just finished and loved! It is about vampires and angels. It is not a dark and spooky read, but definitely is paranormal and is a quick read. I would say this is good for fans of The Vampire Academy and Twilight! 

 

 

 

images

I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga

This book is a mystery/thriller about a son of the world’s worst serial killer. There are murders taking place in his home town and everyone is looking at him to blame. It has some dark humor and let’s you peek inside the head and workings of a criminal. 

The Shining by Stephen King11588

This is another adult horror novel. If you have never read a Stephen King novel this is a good one to start with. Some creepy things start to happen as a family is living in a hotel. If you have ever seen the movie the book is just as terrifying. 

Gone_Girl_(Flynn_novel)Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Although this is not scary it is a psychological thriller that leads you to question the insanity of both the author and the characters. It is about a woman who is murdered and they are looking at the husband for what happened. 

Autumn by David Moody 8103876

I had to include a Zombie book on my list of course! This is about a group of people trying to survive in a world infested by zombies. It is a quick read that is dark and a little scary when thinking about what these people are going through and how fast the rest of the population was wiped out. 

Some honorable mentions:

♠ Anything by Edgar Allen Poe. His work is dark and gritty and sure has that creepy/spooky factor.

♠ Anything by Mary Higgins Clark or Dean Koontz. They both write fantastic mystery/thrillers.

♠ And of course how could I not add it… The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. It is a paranormal series about vampires!

What are some good October/Halloween reads you would recommend? Have you read any of these? What are your thoughts?

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday| Top Books For A Spooky October Read

  1. I love when people rebel! Especially when it benefits me, because I was looking for more horror book ideas. I’m going to look some of these up. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this topic change! I just started reading Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and I really like it so far. I would recommend Beloved by Toni Morrison. It’s a mix of historical fiction and supernatural elements set in the Civil War time period, if you like that kind of stuff. It’s such a great book!

    Like

Why Is A Raven Like A Writing Desk?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s