Reading Guide to the Halloween Season | Book Recommendations

The fall and Halloween are my absolute favorite! When it comes to reading, there is a right way and a wrong way to do it in the month of October. (In my opinion) The fall season has a certain atmosphere and I believe the month of October does as well. The month of October needs to be filled with spooky, creepy, thrillers with paranormal and the unusual. As I was developing my reading list for October I thought I would give some recommendations to others with those books I think are perfect for the month of October.

Ó  Asylum by Madeleine Roux 

This was a dark and creepy story.  And of course it is about an asylum so that is a creep factor within itself. The imagery is so well done I felt like I was thereIt has a dark ominous feel to it and the creepy pictures sprinkled throughout the book help to create that eerie atmosphere.

Ó Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs 

This book is definitely peculiar. It also uses strange and creepy pictures to help tell the story. It is not dark or ominous, but very atmospheric and unique.

Ó Hexed by Michelle Krys

This was a campy story and more light hearted and fun than dark and ominous. I have to say I would categorize this more Charmed/Buffy the Vampire Slayer-esk. It was a fast-paced witchy novel filled with intrigue, mystery and humor.

Ó You by Caroline Kepnes 

This is written in second perspective from a stalkers perspective. I believe that is all I need to say.

 

Ó Odd & True by Cat Winters 

This story was absolutely marvelous and full of monstrous creatures. The two sisters grew up hearing stories about monsters and magic. It is a wonderful story about sisters and has a nice atmosphere.

Ó Black Birds of the Gallows by Meg Kassel 

A love story in the midst of mass chaos. A interesting and creative YA paranormal read that presents unique mythology and characters. It dove into the world of Harbingers of Death, beekeepers, and the hidden magic within.

Ó This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

This was a dark YA with monsters, crime and murder. The atmosphere and overall feel was dark and ominous. It was also beautifully written.

What are some of your spooky/creepy reads?

Advertisements

Top Ten Tuesday| Top Books For A Spooky October Read

Untitled design-9
This weeks Top Ten Tuesday topic hosted by Broke and Bookish is The Top Ten Books For People Who Like Character Driven Books , but I didn’t want to do that. I decided to rebel and instead do more of a recommend post about great reads for the month of October. Since this month has Halloween and so many people like to do some creepy, suspenseful, horror filled or paranormal reads, I figured I would recommend some books that would be great to read this month if you wanted to get in the mood for the holiday season. These are in no particular order and are a range of different types of books that fit into a Halloweeny theme!

MissPeregrineCover

 ♠ Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This is a little creepy and definitely has that strange and weird atmosphere to it. The pictures add to the spookiness of the story. It isn’t scary by any means but gets you in the Halloween mood! 

Hexed by Michelle Krys cover35324-medium

This is a great fun witchy read! It is not scary or spooky, but there is some action and twists. It fits the light and fun feel that is associated with dressing up and having fun on Halloween. 

Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 3.38.38 PM

The Girl From The Well by Rin Chupeco

Now I wasn’t completely in love with this book, but it was good and was based on some Japanese folklore. It reads like a Japanese horror movie much like The Ring or The Grudge. There were times I couldn’t read this at night because my imagination was creating images. 

Tithe by Holly Black  tithe

Now I wouldn’t say this is a typical pick for the Halloween theme. I think it makes for an interesting theme month read. It is about faeries. I know what you are thinking, but this is a dark faerie tale that is twisted and a little creepy! 

6587879

Horns by Joe Hill

This was a dark and disturbing horror novel. It is an adult book.  It is about the devil and solving the mystery behind a death. It was for sure twisted and for mature audiences! There is also a movie coming out! 

Lailah by Nikki Kelly 18324459-1

This is a book I just finished and loved! It is about vampires and angels. It is not a dark and spooky read, but definitely is paranormal and is a quick read. I would say this is good for fans of The Vampire Academy and Twilight! 

 

 

 

images

I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga

This book is a mystery/thriller about a son of the world’s worst serial killer. There are murders taking place in his home town and everyone is looking at him to blame. It has some dark humor and let’s you peek inside the head and workings of a criminal. 

The Shining by Stephen King11588

This is another adult horror novel. If you have never read a Stephen King novel this is a good one to start with. Some creepy things start to happen as a family is living in a hotel. If you have ever seen the movie the book is just as terrifying. 

Gone_Girl_(Flynn_novel)Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Although this is not scary it is a psychological thriller that leads you to question the insanity of both the author and the characters. It is about a woman who is murdered and they are looking at the husband for what happened. 

Autumn by David Moody 8103876

I had to include a Zombie book on my list of course! This is about a group of people trying to survive in a world infested by zombies. It is a quick read that is dark and a little scary when thinking about what these people are going through and how fast the rest of the population was wiped out. 

Some honorable mentions:

♠ Anything by Edgar Allen Poe. His work is dark and gritty and sure has that creepy/spooky factor.

♠ Anything by Mary Higgins Clark or Dean Koontz. They both write fantastic mystery/thrillers.

♠ And of course how could I not add it… The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. It is a paranormal series about vampires!

What are some good October/Halloween reads you would recommend? Have you read any of these? What are your thoughts?