Halloween Recommendations | Vampires !

VAMPIRES!

I figured since it is nearing Halloween I would do another book recommendation. If you haven’t seen my spooky books rec from earlier in the month you can check it out here! I decided to do this one on vampires since that is the category in which I have read the most books. Some of these might be familiar from my other post, but I figured I would explain and talk about the different types of vampires. I am also including some books I wasn’t the hugest fan for, but has a cool concept of vampires.

The evolution of vampires in literature has come a long way since the classic vampire novels such as Dracula and Carmilla. There are so many different explanations and myths created in the vampire trope. Some vampire drink blood or humans, but don’t kill them while others do. Some can be in daylight and even sparkle while others can only come out at night or burn up. In some cases you have to be bitten to be turned while in others you are born into being a vampire. I think because of Twilight (the movies) the sub-genre has gotten a bad rep , but I still really enjoy vampire books and have found that they are all very different.

1

 

Vamp Ac
2346

 

 

What are some good vampire books you would recommend? 

 

Advertisements

Swoon Worthy Saturday [10/11]

Untitled design-14

 

Saturday is a day for swooning. Swoon Worthy Saturday is a weekly meme where in we present a fictional boy who has swept us off our feet, given us butterflies, made our heart do acrobatics and driven us absolutely crazy! (Hosted by StayBookish )

 

Jonah 

 from Lailah, Nikki Kelly

I just recently finished Lailah by Nikki Kelly which came out on the 7th of this month. It is a paranormal romance about vampires and angels. Being a romance of course there are swoon worthy men, two to be exact and although I did think that Gabriel was handsome and a real winner I have to say it was Jonah that won me over even though he is a vampire and considered to be “bad”! I am really into the dark bad boys that have that soft side. Nothing make me swoon more than that! Jonah has a great and fun personality that is playful and sassy. He is just everything wonderful to me in a fictional male character!

Lailah by Nikki Kelly | Book Review

18324459-1LAILAH BY NIKKI KELLY

Genre: YA, Paranormal Romance

Source: Fierce Reads Giveaway (ARC)

“I desperately needed answers. There was so much I didn’t understand.”
– Nikki Kelly, Lailah

Series: The Styclar Saga

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Synopsis: 
The girl knows she’s different. She doesn’t age. She has no family. She has visions of a past life, but no clear clues as to what she is, or where she comes from. But there is a face in her dreams – a light that breaks through the darkness. She knows his name is Gabriel.

On her way home from work, the girl encounters an injured stranger whose name is Jonah. Soon, she will understand that Jonah belongs to a generation of Vampires that serve even darker forces. Jonah and the few like him, are fighting with help from an unlikely ally – a rogue Angel, named Gabriel.

In the crossfire between good and evil, love and hate, and life and death, the girl learns her name: Lailah. But when the lines between black and white begin to blur, where in the spectrum will she find her place? And with whom?

Gabriel and Jonah both want to protect her. But Lailah will have to fight her own battle to find out who she truly is. [Goodreads]

review

In a battle as old as time between good and evil, Cessie (Lailah) is not sure what she is and where she falls into the great divide of angels and vampires. The only information she has about her past is what she has relived through her dreams and even then she is not sure how much of it is true. That is until she runs into an injured stranger named Jonah and her whole life slowly starts to change as she learns more about who she is and what she is. There is suspense, mystery, action, romance and of course some swoon worthy men!

This book was exactly what I needed. I was completely captivated by the story, world and characters that I had a hard time putting it down and actually read a majority of the book in one sitting! I was nervous going into this book because of the vampires and sometimes they get a little weird and overdone, but I was pleasantly surprised and loved the world. The world building and development were fantastic! The world building was subtle enough that it wasn’t overloaded all at once, but you learn alongside Cessie (Lailah). I also loved that the book was based in Europe, it created a beautiful setting and a great feature to the story! Kelly laid out a story that was so beautifully written and flowed so well that it was so easy to devour. There was a youthfulness to her writing that allowed me to easily connect to Lailah and totally understood her, her problems, feelings and where she was coming from as well as Brooke and the other characters.

The characters sure had large dynamic and unique personalities! Kelly did a fabulous job crafting some absolutely amazing men! The earn the title for being swoon worthy and each have their own personalities and qualities that enhance each of them! I have to say although Gabriel is the handsome angel that is protective and caring,  I am definitely into the bad boy vampire with that great sass! I loved that each character had their own stories and connection to the other characters. Lailah was a strong female character and definitely had a mind of her own. She went through a lot and there was lots of character development seen through the whole book.

As much as I loved and adored this book there were a few things that annoyed me a little, but I was able to ignore for the most part because of the great story, world and characters! There is a love triangle, this should be no surprise because most paranormal romances (basically YA genre in general) seem to have this element. There were also times that I was reminded a lot of Twilight (and not just because they are both paranormal romances with love triangles and vampires) it was certain words and actions that instantly took me back to Twilight, but it only happened a few time.

Through the clichés, came a story that I found unique and a new take on the typical good versus evil story. It had a fresh twist our world and the idea of heaven and hell. There were twists and surprises, swoony men and great characters full of life and personality.There were some great swoon worthy quotes and great fangirl moments. It left me wanting (needing) more and has become a guilty pleasure read for me that I am sure will become a re-read very soon! I highly recommend it for fans of Richelle Mead, Jennifer L. Armentrout and Stephanie Meyer. It read like the greats that came before it, Twilight, The Vampire Academy, White Hot Kiss etc. (This is not just because it is about vampires it is because it is a captivating paranormal romance!) 


RATING-4

 

Friday Reads {10/3}

Untitled design-11
6587879I have a whole week off from work! I am hoping that will give me some time to catch up on
some things like reading! You might notice that this friday reads looks very similar to last week! That is what happens when you read three books all at the same  time.  I am currently (STILL) reading Horns by Joe Hill.  I am over half way through it and I am determined to finish it this weekend. I’m really interested to see what happens at the end. I am also listening to World After by Susan Ee. 12983100This is the second book in the Penryn & the End of Days series. I have about a fourth of this left to go and I am finally beginning to get into it. I am still not totally sold on the book, I just feel like it is not my thing. I’m really trying to give it a chance. I also have about 40 pages left to 20757521read in Love and Other Unknown Variables by Shannon Lee Alexander. I received this for review and it comes out in about a week or so. Let me just say that I LOVE IT! It definitely has jumped into the top books I have read so far this year. I was so completely surprised by this book and can’t wait for it to come out so everyone can go pick it up! The first book I plan on picking up from my october TBR is Lailah by Nikki Kelly. 18324459-1It is coming out on October 7th and is a paranormal book about vampires! I am excited to see what its all about and see what kind of vampire world is created in this novel! I think this should carry me through the weekend. Once I finish my audiobook I will probably be picking up another audiobook to start, but I am not sure which one yet!

What are your plans for the weekend?Anything fun or exciting happening ? What are you reading/planning on reading? I would love to hear from you!